A new tack

17/06/2011

I have decided that most people do not have war zones in their homes between cats… even 20-cat households… so this should be doable.  I am going to try to stop focusing on their fighting and poo-flinging (Yuan just decided it was a good idea to hang his rear over the side of the box and poop on the floor – maybe that poo yesterday was his?) and just tell them to figure it out.  Now don’t take this the wrong way – I’m not going to confiscate the cat trees or any such thing I’ve already put into place.  But I’m changing the vibe.  You know like when a kid throws a temper tantrum, if you give them attention, it only perpetuates the tantrum?  So I’m just going to not put my attention on the negatives.

Maggie has been impressing the snot out of me even as her siblings get worse.  I’ve had the door open for a time three days in a row and she has been very chill about it, and not going into hiding from the mere thought of her brother and sister.  On the first day, I had to steer Yuan away from the room a few times, but other than that, he’s been leaving her be in there.  I figure this is a slow way to let them see each other and observe without any fighting.  As soon as Yuan went for the room the first day, I booted him out.  By day two he wasn’t trying anymore.  So Maggie still has been in her fort but now there’s an option of interaction, at least for part of the day.  She’s been very brave.

Deidre, meanwhile, has been glued to the bed.  I think part of my no-more-coddling strategy is going to include picking her up and putting her in some of her old spots when Yuan isn’t around.  If she runs back to the bed, fine, but we’re at least going to try.  And if Yuan tries to pounce I’ll run him off just as I did with Maggie’s room.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t blame Yuan; he’s just being a cat.  But he’s got to learn to not terrorize his sisters and they have to learn to not be terrified of him.  So… No More Tantrums, Day One.  We’ll see how this goes. 🙂

On another note, here are some melt-inducing cute Deidre photos from last night as she lay on the nice-and-clean bed:

Squeee!

Squeeeeee!

Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

